Cooking / Sweet

Fresh Bread cooks Coconut Cake: my grandma’s go to recipe

This is ridiculously easy. You’ll not believe me that it tastes delicious, but it does. I took it to work once, and got requests for the recipe – which I could write off the top of my head, as it’s SO easy!

The sugar and coconut kind of caramelise together to form a delicious crust and the inside of the cake is super moist and coconutty. You could probably add berries or mango to this cake although I haven’t experimented with it. Granny used to whip this one out for visitors all of the time.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup self raising flour
  • 1 cup desiccated coconut
  • 1 cup raw sugar
  • 3/4 cup milk

Mix all together. The mixture is quite wet. Bung in a greased and papered loaf tin (but can use whatever tin you have, I sure have!) and bake for 40 min or until a skewer comes out clean.

Here’s something I did with this lately: added some leftover tinned pineapple to the top. The housemates raved about it.

First I melted some butter and sugar in a saucepan to create a caramel-y sauce:

Creating caramel sauce

Creating caramel

Then I lined the tin with the leftover pieces of pineapple and poured the butter-sugar concoction in before filling the cake tin with the rest of the coconut cake mixture.

Pineapple upside down cake

Pineapple upside down cake or ... coconut cake?

It kept the cake deliciously moist and the combination of the tropical flavours was great. I didn’t get a photo of the end result; it was eaten too fast! 😀

2 thoughts on “Fresh Bread cooks Coconut Cake: my grandma’s go to recipe

  1. This looks fantastic and I have all the ingredients in the kitchen right now (sans pineapple) – think I’ll pick up the pineapple tomorrow and make for dessert! Thank you!

    • It’s probably the easiest cake ever to make, as well… Stir everything together and bake! Trust me when I say you can make it without the pineapple and it will be just as delicious. A bit less dessert-y, a bit more “afternoon tea”. 🙂

Leave a comment